Get out the list

And mark ’em all off.

The scene:  A white Murray State University professor to two black students, whom he believed were tardy to his class.  What he claims he said:

‘Do you know why you were late? There’s a theory that a way to protest their master’s treatment was for slaves to be late.’

What one of the students reported:

It is part of your heritage. The slaves never showed up on time to their owners and were lashed for it. I just don’t have the right to do that.

What did Professor Mark Wattier have to say in his own defense?

My comment was inappropriate. I regret having said this out of context and bluntly.

Inappropriate. That’s for sure. Out of context! Check! Because you know he was just speaking his mind, not adhering to all that “PC crap.”

My inappropriate comment in the complaint does not represent my heart or values on race,” he said. “The truth is that I respect my many African-American friends, athletic teammates, colleagues and students from the 1960s to the present.

Ah, it doesn’t reflect the “real” him! He has black friends, too. Check! Check! Since he says it is the truth, you know it must be so.

The reporter even interviewed a (white) basketball teammate of his from the 1970’s who vouched for his good character.

So there.  Move along now.  Take your list with you.

Leave a comment