15 minutes almost up.

So we learn that Alexandra Wallace had plans for a comedic empire revolving around us funny Asians:

However, it seems the original video was not intended to be a one-time hit.

“My daughter wants to start a blog,” wrote Wallace’s dad on his Facebook page.

John Wallace, a Sacramento-area retail developer, posted on Friday at 11:17 a.m.: “She’s asking for domain suggestions for ‘Asians on their cellphones in the library!’ She’s shooting videos as I write.”

John Wallace also posted March 3 that his daughter was cast to be in the audience of MTV’s “Jersey Shore” reunion show.

From the Sacramento Bee.

The UCLA paper reports that the school will not take any official action against her.  Because it doesn’t punish free speech, yanno.  But she will be leaving anyway:

In an attempt to produce a humorous YouTube video, I have offended the UCLA community and the entire Asian culture. I am truly sorry for the hurtful words I said and the pain it caused to anyone who watched the video. Especially in the wake of the ongoing disaster in Japan, I would do anything to take back my insensitive words. I could write apology letters all day and night, but I know they wouldn’t erase the video from your memory, nor would they act to reverse my inappropriate action. I made a mistake. My mistake, however, has lead to the harassment of my family, the publishing of my personal information, death threats, and being ostracized from an entire community. Accordingly, for personal safety reasons, I have chosen to no longer attend classes at UCLA.

Source.

Bye.

Edited to add: Wallace cites “death threats” but as previously mentioned, these have not been corroborated.

10 thoughts on “15 minutes almost up.

  1. Sacramento is also the home to a virulent anti-gay movement. This girl is so stupid she had no idea what she’s actually done.

  2. I had no idea there was an entire Asian culture. Hmm. Learn something new every day, I suppose.

    Also didn’t know the one must be “cast” as an “audience member” at Jersey Shore reunions.

    Thanks for the education, resistance – that’s 2 new things before lunch!

  3. I feel sad for her that she has experienced harassment and death threats as a result of her actions. That is not an appropriate response.

    I am not excusing her actions – they are vile – but it is important to remember, especially in Internet arenas, to let civility always prevail.

  4. I wondered when someone would give her a good verbal or virtual slap. And here it is:

    Ching Chong! Asians in the Library Song (Response to UCLA’s Alexandra Wallace)

    [link redacted]

Leave a comment