Post-election open thread

I’ll be out all day attending to various this and that.  Have at it.

7 thoughts on “Post-election open thread

  1. Neither of these races are anywhere near me, but I am incredibly glad that Mazie Hirono and Tammy Duckworth won their races. Tammy Duckworth is a school friend of a friend of mine; I was rooting for her for her policies, but I thought it was cool that she went to school with my friend.

    Also unbelievably glad that President Obama won re-election.

  2. I couldn’t consider Romney because of the ridiculous social views that the right side seems to be stuck with.

    Virtually all of my contemporaries in the tech biz voted for Obama as well. This part of the country is solid that way.

    I didn’t want the election to be about race, but there it is, while anger post election. It makes me quite sad. This isn’t the blatant variety per se, but the just barely hidden but not fooling anyone.

  3. Several online articles are using the phrase “a nation divided”, or “growing divide”, etc. People need to talk and hear each other out, as friends, but many I know aren’t willing to give ‘the other side’ a chance.

  4. Moose, are you speaking politically or racially? I think it’s true of both, and I agree that talking builds bridges – if it’s done right. How do we do it correctly is the question. Racially speaking, I’ve been so encouraged lately to see groups of blacks & whites gathering for just such dialogue. Next year with the 50th anniversary of some important civil rights movement events will be the perfect time to do so.

  5. Was glad to see Duckworth win. I was surprised to see that Mourdock’s and Akin’s states rejected them but were red just the same. Also that Obama got less than 1 in 3 of the white male vote. Apparently 75 percent of Asian Americans went blue.

Leave a Reply

