Empathy, I think you do not know what it means

Also I think you flunked sixth-grade sex ed.

Rep. Todd Akin sits on the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.  Asked about whether abortion should be considered in the case of a pregnancy resulting from rape, Akin opined thusly:

“It seems to me, from what I understand from doctors, that’s really rare,” Akin said, referring to conception following a rape. “If it’s a legitimate rape, the female body has ways to try to shut that whole thing down. But let’s assume that maybe that didn’t work or something. I think there should be some punishment, but the punishment ought to be of the rapist, and not attacking the child.”

Source.  He apparently doesn’t understand what “legitimate” means, either.

Then he tried to clarify his misspeech:

“It’s clear that I misspoke in this interview and it does not reflect the deep empathy I hold for the thousands of women who are raped and abused every year,” he said. “I recognize that abortion, and particularly in the case of rape, is a very emotionally charged issue. But I believe deeply in the protection of all life and I do not believe that harming another innocent victim is the right course of action.”

Missouri! Elect a legitimate candidate!

Leave a Reply

