June 19, 1982

The first time I felt afraid was the first time I understood that hate crimes are domestic terrorism.
Because I knew what it was like to be afraid.
Before September 11, it was personal.
Before September 11, I knew why they hate us.
Only the us I saw on September 11 was not the same us I knew.
Because I knew I was not one of us.
Because I never forgot before that date.
But nobody else remembered
Because they were not one of us.

It was June 19, 1982.

His name was Vincent.

 

Leave a Reply

