Lazy blogger, Saturday edition

The Lynn Chen edition.

Somewhere in the universe, a benevolent being has been uploading movies to the internet for my viewing pleasure.  I have wanted to see White on Rice (2009) (“I know there’s a lot of dishonor in your culture …”)  and The People I’ve Slept With for a while.  Also Go For Broke (1951).

Then I watched China’s Lost Girls (2005), about adoption of children from China by Americans.  Nothing you really need to see here, nothing new to learn.  Except Lisa Ling is really annoying, and she gushes about how happy “everybody” was on the day the adoptive parents met the children.  Except the children, who look traumatized.  I mostly watched this because I was in China at one of the filming locations, and wanted to see if I could see myself in the background.  Let me know if you spot me.

Anthony Federico, him of the “Chink in the Armor” headline about Jeremy Lin, writes a brief apology and a longer list of what a great guy he is.

We noted in a previous post that we rarely hear about the victims of racism.  For Kelly Orlando, witnessing the brutal beating caused her extreme emotional suffering.   Like the girls in the video, she too feared for her safety.  No word on whether she was afforded police protection.

Dharun Ravi’s trial started Friday.  The parents and brother of Tyler Clementi were present.  Ravi passed on the chance to plea bargain.  I wouldn’t have taken that bet.  Several articles have noted that Ravi is subject to deportation if convicted.

And finally, a slide show of photographs of veterans from the 442nd, who were awarded the Congressional Gold Medal.  Thank you for your service.

2 thoughts on “Lazy blogger, Saturday edition

  1. I managed to get just through the scene in which the babies were handed over to the adoptive parents in “China’s Lost Girls.” They all DID look traumatized.

    For the American mom from Georgia to say that her adaughter had “never known a mother”–well, that sounds absolutely like someone who’s never been pregnant, never given birth. There’s a lot of “knowing” there. And my tears are for the lost MOTHERS of China… and their daughters whom they never will be able to nurture.

Leave a Reply

