Straining my cultural competence

Photo by Paul J. Taylor

So I was asked to provide food for an organization function.  I have done this in the past.  Cooked chicken or char siu for 100 people.  Baked delicious vegan pastries and cookies.  Created decorated finger food for children.  I can also cook a number of “ethnic” specialties quite well.  Yes, I have many talents and I have used them numerous times in the past for this organization.  So I listed a few of the things I could bring.

They were all rejected.  Guess what I was asked to bring?  A jello mold!

Seriously, a jello mold?  I don’t even know how to make a jello mold, but I imagine it has to do with hot water and jello boxes.  What does it mean when the first thing I thought was, “Wonder if I can get one of those molds that looks like a giant brain?”

This is not quite as bad as the time I was asked to make and serve hot dogs.  But it’s close.  To my credit, I just said, “Oh, a jello mold?  Okay.”

3 thoughts on “Straining my cultural competence

  1. What does it mean when the first thing I thought was, “Wonder if I can get one of those molds that looks like a giant brain?”

    It means you’re awesome. Someone brought one of those brain-mold Jellos to a party I was at once, she’d even added something to it so it was opaque rather than transparent, and it was a huge hit. Everybody loved it. You should totally do it!

  2. I make amazing cucumber jell-o. You can put it in any old mold, but damn, it’s so delicious and fresh on a hot summer day.

Leave a Reply

