It’s the economy.

Still.

Maybe brown people will start getting some service.  But I’m not holding my breath.

So two years ago I was looking for a new company to do some service at my house.  And I reached some guy on the telephone who was really nice but noticeably cooled when he heard my name.  Guess that’s my fault for talking white and all.

Anyway, long story short:  He quoted me a price.  Then called back after the service person had been there and been paid and complained he would have charged me more if I had given him details.  Which I had given him.  But he still asked me to recommend him.  And then he was cranky because I don’t have a fax machine.  So he sent me a typewritten card advertising his services.

Got a letter from him in the mail today.  And it was typed on a typewriter as well.  Rife with spelling and grammatical errors.  Included was a photocopy of what appears to be a yellow pages ad.  Maybe brown money is better than none.

Anyway, I’m now paying $60 for service.  Instead of $95 or $150.  The person who does the work doesn’t seem to mind my funny name and has even seen me so we won’t have any unpleasant surprises.

Leave a Reply

