Ten minutes

So I was at a conference.  And like at many conferences, there was a tech glitch.  Good thing I was there.*  I knew the speaker, so I asked if he wanted help.  After about two minutes, I determined that he did not have the proper cables and thus could not use the equipment.  I was saying this when two white guys came up and took stuff out of my hands and talked about their tech knowledge.

Ten minutes later, they conferred and came to the conclusion that the equipment could not be used.  Ten minutes of my life.  Gone forever.  I refrained from saying, “I said that ten minutes ago.”

*I should note that I was in two other sessions where I fixed the glitches.

Go read Restructure! for more about this issue.  By the way, if I saw Restructure! at a conference, I would just let her do her thing.  Because I have a pretty good idea she’s smarter than I am.

6 thoughts on “Ten minutes

  1. I don’t think of myself as a hardware person. If I saw you at a conference, I would let you do your thing, because I would think that you are more knowledgeable* than I am.

    * (I don’t say “smarter”, because tech knowledge is just a type of knowledge. It doesn’t mean that you are generally smarter than other people, although many people in tech do think that.)

  2. Pingback: Leftovers. « PostBourgie

  3. With tech guys, it goes double for women. Like women can’t do tech or something. And this is why they can’t get girlfriends, either.

  4. It’s annoying that the people *let* them. Could of said “Thanks for your help, this person (or your name) just said that we don’t have the cables we need to use it…”. Was there any reason you had to stand around for the 10 minutes? Was it a job/obligation or did you just want to make sure it got fixed? I would’ve left.

  5. Hi Dreki, I was waiting to hear the speaker like everybody else.

    But your point and Matador1015’s comment makes me think about the different racial/gender dynamics going on in each of the sessions. Hmm.

    By the way, Restructure!, I do think that people can be smarter about problem-solving without any specific hardware knowledge. Although familiarity certainly helps.

Leave a Reply

