Teacher sprays kids with air freshener

Because she objected to the smell of curry, apparently.  From the Guardian:

A teacher has been banned from classrooms after spraying children of Asian origin with air freshener if she said she smelled curry.

Elizabeth Davies, 48, was struck off for at least two years for the way she treated children in her primary school class.

A disciplinary hearing was told that Davies would say: “There is a waft coming from paradise” before using the air freshener. She was accused of having a “smug look” as she sprayed children in the class, where half the pupils were of Bangladeshi origin.

4 thoughts on “Teacher sprays kids with air freshener

  1. How awful. I have allergies.I cannot even imagine how sick I would be if someone sprayed me with the toxic, asthma causing chemicals of air fresheners. She should be fired and sued. What? In two years, she will no longer be racist and abusive?

  2. She’s a nasty piece of work. I had racist teachers when I was in primary school but I was too small to defend myself. I wish I could go back in time and give them a piece of my mind.

  3. Whenever I read stories like this, I wonder what the heck the other adults in the school were doing. Other news reports suggest that the investigation started when a child told his parent about the incidents.

  4. While I’m sorry she isn’t permanently banned from teaching, the sad fact is that I’m pleased that at least she’s been stopped for two years. I’ve read so many stories about teachers doing horrible racist things to children, and the school district immediately rushes in with the, “The teacher didn’t intend to be racist,” and then nothing at all happens to the teacher. Even though two years of not teaching is woefully insufficient as a punishment, I’m glad she’s getting any punishment at all.

    Those poor kids. As unpleasant as it would be to have the chemical stink of air freshener clinging to you, the humiliation would probably be even worse.

Leave a Reply

