Word substitution

From USA Today:

Infants follow the gazes of robots who adults treat as people, a study shows, but ignore ones they don’t. The study offers clues to how children learn to think of others as people, not things.”Children learn from us all the time, even when we think they aren’t watching,” says psychologist Andrew Meltzoff of the University of Washington in Seattle. “One of the things they are watching is who we treat as thinking beings.”

Really.

By the way, I saw that kid again recently.  Somebody kept trying to give her to me because they thought she was my child.  You know, because I might not understand English very well and I said, “No, she’s not mine.”   She was doing her darndest to avoid my gaze.

Leave a Reply

