June 19, 1982

Vincent
tied to the death of a friend
Can’t tear apart
the pain of Vincent’s family and friends
and the pain I own.

Vincent
You and I cried into the telephone
for your friend I never knew
for my friend you could never know
their deaths tied in hatred
our lives bound in love.

Vincent
Another call
about her nephew
who was sitting on the porch
when they shot him dead.

Vincent
She called me one day
because she said I would understand
what it was like
to get that call
to hear it was murder.

Vincent
I never wanted to know
what June 19, 1982
felt like
or to know that so many other days
were just the same.

Leave a Reply

