Hate crime suspects identified

At least five attacks on Asian women (aged 50-71) have been reported on the Lower East Side since the end of March.  Three suspects appeared in family court on Saturday.  Their parents apparently turned them in after viewing surveillance video.  The suspects are a 12-year-old girl, a 15-year-old girl and a 15-year-old boy.  The girls apparently beat the victims while the boys cheered them on.

I was a little surprised to see their parents turned them in.  The attacks occurred late at night, with one reported at 1:20 a.m.

4 thoughts on “Hate crime suspects identified

  1. Been following this. There are others involved who have not been identified, but I’m glad some of the parents had the sense to do something. I’m curious what the kids motive was. lots of questions really…

  2. As a parent myself, I applaud the parents for turning their kids in. For a crime like this, they need to face the severity of their actions, and going through the criminal system is going to do that a hell of a lot more effectively than “you’re grounded for the next three months, and give me your cell phone as well”.

    I know some parents would protect their kids no matter what their kids did, but I’m not one of them, and I’m glad these parents aren’t either.

  3. I’m glad the parents spoke up, too. I grew up on the Lower East Side all my life and this always happens to the Chinese. A reason why my parents never allowed me to never walk to that particular area (the projects) especially not at night in fear that we might get attack, too, just because we’re Chinese…

    I hope those kids get what they deserve.

  4. I applaud the parents for reporting their kids. It shows the parents DO believe in what’s right.

Leave a Reply

