Today

Today
in casual conversation
I found an acquaintance
connected by two degrees.

Today
I heard her name
and asked who knew her
and she turned out to be
standing in the circle
as we were talking.


Today
she asked for his name
and I said it aloud
today
for the first time in years.

Today
somebody other than me
knew that name
knew that face
knew what it meant
that he is not here.

Today
I found that a woman I knew
Who could easily be a friend
Whom I could easily love
Was tied to me
Just by saying that name.

His name.

Leave a Reply

