Defining blackness

Being real, shining shoes, five-room apartments and a laundromat in a black neighborhood:

“It’s such a cynical business, and most of the people in the business are full of shit and phonies, but I was real, man — and am real. This guy, he was catapulted in on hope and change, what we hope the guy is. What the fuck? Everything he’s saying’s on the teleprompter. I’m blacker than Barack Obama. I shined shoes. I grew up in a five-room apartment. My father had a little laundromat in a black community not far from where we lived. I saw it all growing up.”

Rod Blagojevich, former governor of Illinois.

4 thoughts on “Defining blackness

  1. Yes, because we all know black is defined by poverty and service experience. This man is an idiot.

  2. @ au napptural

    Don’t forget owning your own business and having a (bed)room for each person in the family! I had to share mine. Guess I’m not really black.

Leave a Reply

