17 thoughts on “Another one

  1. Well, after reading a few blogs, it seems like this woman had a difficult time adopting in the first place, she claimed that China wouldn’t allow her to adopt because she is African American, however, China does not prevent adoption based on the ap’s race as far as I know of, if anything, it was US adoption agencies who have done that in the past.
    I also am wondering if she was single, and was not prepared for an older child adoption, which has it’s own challenges, in addition, I think the little girl had cleft pallate. The only child I really know who was adopted at about the same age, and with the same medical condition, had huge frustrations, not just being unable to form words, or adjust to another language, but also, the surgery is extremely frustrating, the tongue gets tied to the roof of the mouth.
    This is so horrible of a tragedy, and again, I just wonder why no support system was required, I thought all special needs children required a plan outlining how the special needs would be treated, I just wonder if some phoney document wasn’t dreamed up by the agency or social worker, with no actual real plan in place.
    As a single parent, I know I have been really so fortunate to have had a loving mother (adoptive grandmother) who has ALWAYS been available to help me with my children, and three sisters who have always given me so much, and my friends too, a support network for single mothers has meant so much to me.
    I can’t understand why it took so long for an arrest to be made, it seems pretty clear, affixiation and blunt instrument.
    Also, many states require videos and education on shaken baby syndrome for people giving birth to children, but as far as I know, this is not a requirement for adoption. Well, maybe things have changed, I don’t know, I am wondering if the Hague Convention addressed these issues?

  2. She was not the only African American family that was denied adoption based on race. From what I read the OFFICIAL statement from China was that it was due to her race; they could have been using that as a cover for the real reasons for denial. And it is illegal for an American adoption agency to deny based on race or sexuality UNLESS it is the rule of the other country. China also don’t allow homosexual adoptions either.

    She also had older biological children at home to help her and just before this happened had taken the girl to have the surgery done.

  3. Also, I am not sure why we are not thinking that maybe the police have an agenda here. Does it normally take a year to develop this type of case? And yes, I am a white adoptive parent that doesn’t like to assume the worst. Especially, since I have seen pictures of her and her daughter.

  4. Colleen, where is the OFFICIAL statement from China? Since I know that there are African American families who have adopted from China, I find your assertion curious.

    There is actually a yahoo adoption group of parents who are African American who have adopted from China.

    Also, adoption agencies can and do discriminate for a variety of reasons, some religious, and yes, some do discriminate based on race, a very hard thing to prove btw, and it is not illegal as long as the agency does not take federal funds.

  5. Here is a link to an African American family adopting from China, the article also links to another African American family who adopted from China.
    .

    I am waiting for China’s Official statement, Colleen.

    or was it the adoption agency’s official statement? Adoption agencies can and do discriminate all the time, in domestic adoptions too! As I already posted, many times that discrimination can be difficult to prove.

  6. According to the agency, this woman was pre-approved, then denied by the CCAA when they discovered she was African American. Under a lot of pressure, they caved – but revoked the agency’s accreditation.

    Stay tuned – there may be some more news coming out about this woman related to her past and how she REALLY should never have gotten through the screening process.

  7. CJ’s Daddy, the key words are “according to the agency”.

    I don’t believe that CCAA would cave, that is b.s., yes I will follow this story, what do you know that we all don’t?

  8. Answering my own question. According to this site, not all states require CAN clearances. Thirty-one states require federal criminal record checks. CAN clearances required in 37 states. A check of the sex offender registries in Alaska, Illinois, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Puerto Rico.

    Unbelievable.

    So in other words, I had more vetting for some of my jobs than I would if I were to adopt.

  9. I was waiting for actual links to the info because it hasn’t quite become a news story. Pound Pup Legacy has done the leg work to connect to dots to to her arrest and release as a foster parent – as resistance references.

    http://poundpuplegacy.org/node/36976

    Until the Hague – I don’t know if there was any consistency regarding what needs to be done regarding background checks and such.

    Even so, part of the homestudy is supposed to be just that – literally a review of your home life. The fact that the woman was a foster parent almost certainly had to be known to the agency. If that’s the case – wouldn’t they want to take a quick peek into her past and see how that turned out? Very scary.

  10. I cant reconcile this with the mountains and MOUNTAINS of paperwork, fingerprints, background checks, interviews, training workshops, and educational materials my husband and I were required to complete. Is it because there is no standard across the board? because I live in one of the states that has legislated certain requirements? because of the particular agency I used?? Why do the requirements differ so much?

  11. I thought the homestudy required child abuse clearance, fingerprinting by INS, and a letter of good conduct from local police, I am guessing that INS requires a homestudy, but the homestudy must meet individual state requirements?
    I am still not sure if the Hague addressed this to require conformity by all states, this is a huge loop hole. Adoption agencies do business in multiple states, it’s curious that the agencies themselves don’t enact standard requirements to safeguard the children, or at the very least, protect their own best interests by protecting the children and preserving their reputation and licence?

  12. Sorry, but I can’t figure out how the CCAA would be matching pictures, a dossier with family pictures is required, isn’t it, and I thought the match room used those pictures, this doesn’t make any sense to me that an African American woman would be rejected by CCAA, the homestudy also states the ethnicity of the applicants, doesn’t it? There are no rules at CCAA about ethnicity, other than expedition for parents who are Chinese??
    I realize this is a different issue than child abuse clearance, but something doesn’t smell right in this whole entire case.

  13. Good grief – on a message board – the agency owner admitted that they knew about her arrest, but defended the decision to approve her because she was essentially cleared by the police. He deflected to them, the state of CA, and the Home Study agency. He also insisted that she was initially denied in by the CCAA (not the orphanage director) because of her race.
    I’m not totally into being an informant, but this was posted on a publicly accessible message board.

  14. CJ’sDaddy,
    sorry to be a pest, I didn’t expect you to be an informant, ok I will look for some more links, thank you!

  15. Oh – I didn’t mean it that way – I just meant that I wasn’t posting something that the guy thought was private. I don’t mind tracking down stuff – I was actually just waiting for this to come out in a public area before posting it here. I actually heard about this much earlier, but it was just rumors (albeit from reliable sources).
    No worries about you being a pest :)

  16. CJ’s Daddy
    You know what? I have not seen China’s official statement yet. Where is that, i am waiting,

    Further more, if I was a Chinese adoptee, I would much rather be adopted by a Black family, or IR family, than a married white couple

Leave a Reply

