WTF Time Magazine

I think we already knew Time sucks, but I had to read this three times before I could acknowledge that my brain wasn’t short circuiting and feeding me gibberish.  The article is titled India Witnesses Its First Monkey Marriage, Because Why Not  and here’s the lede:

Gay marriage has gotten its due; but now it’s time to pave the way for monkey marriage.

Equating humans with animals. How many times have we seen that before?

(To add insult to injury, it’s penned by a woman named Erica Ho. Yet again displaying that people on the receiving end of -isms don’t seem to apply that knowledge much to their own lives.)

2 thoughts on “WTF Time Magazine

  1. You know, when I was a little kid I used to think that Time was this awesome grown up magazine and I was always thrilled to read it.

    But seriously, I am incredibly confused after reading this article. Did the monkey owners do this to mock gay marriage? Or is Reporter Ho just making a very dehumanizing comparison?

  2. Animals can be (much of the time) equated with humans b/c humans aren’t better than animals; being that humans are animals. But, seeing as monkeys don’t appear to have the social construct of marriage, I would agree that, in this case, it’s unfair to equate humans to them.
    Poor monkeys. :(

Leave a Reply

