FWM

So two teenage girls reportedly heard members of a Muslim family discussing the safest place to sit on an airplane.  They reported it, and the husband and wife got yanked off the plane for questioning.  Then the members of their extended family were removed as well, held but not questioned.  The FBI was called in and cleared the family, but the airline wouldn’t let them reboard or rebook.

Video here.

I once had a white guy try to have me arrested because he said that I was “breaking into cars” when I was on my way home (dressed in business wear, I might note).  All I could think was how glad I was that the officer was black.

6 thoughts on “FWM

  1. Just letting you know that your friends over at the Young Black Professional Guide love and support your blog.

    Keep keepin’.

    I hope one day we can collabo.

  2. Gotta love it how the headline on CNN says, “Muslims miffed after being booted off plane”. Because nothing says taking racial profiling seriously like using light-hearted banter to address it! Miffed?? Booted? I mean, honestly!

  3. So apparently, talking about airplane safety when you’re brown is “inappropriate”. The next time I fly, I will keep my mouth shut (very unlikely).

  4. Looking “nervous” when you’re at the airport is also a sign of likely terrorist activity. Like who wouldn’t be nervous with the TSA nuts on you? And isn’t flying bad enough anyway? I fly 4-5 times a year and I always glare at these apparatchiks of the state. I’m politely rude, if that makes sense.

  5. Pingback: Links - 2009-01-12 at Racialicious - the intersection of race and pop culture

Leave a Reply

